Lonelier

Dear J—

If you’re of the old-fashioned type you call a person whose wife has died a widower; what do you call it when, by some strange coincidence, all your friends have abandoned you on the train? Yeah, I know, the whole concept of wife versus spouse is rooted in some gender-based construct: why we have some nouns associated with mascline and feminine constructs is beyond me, but I personally suspect there’s some lingering influence from the Germanic languages.

The guys I usually talk to are all on vacation through the Fourth of July, meaning today and the next day will be somewhat quiet, and next Monday as well, though having the Fourth fall mid-week makes it somewhat less convenient for those of us working and hoping to stay employed. I have not planned out my vacations well this year, and there’s no such thing as requiring continuous coverage, but that’s how it goes when you’re an unrecognized expert in your own mind. LIke I said, people don’t talk to me often for a reason.

Well, at least it’s a chance to mourn more broken keys on the keyboard and try to figure out what parts I might need to keep it in good repair.

Mike

One Response to “Lonelier”

  1. trần căng việt đức trung quốc Says:

    Good information. Lucky me I ran across your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

