Influencer

Dear J—

The thought that I could have anything more than the merest influence on the outcome of sporting events being played by professionals in far-flung cities from here is laughable and yet here I am thinking that well, if I participate greatly in the schadenfreude that is rooting against the Penguins, or wondering what I need to do to make the Giants win more frequently, well, that thought preys on me though it’s probably who knows what kind of leftover secondhand guilt going on.

Let’s think about it for a second. If I believe in this completely, then just by reading all the sad Penguins fans twitter accounts, that’s going to cause the team to bounce back and close out the Predators? I keep having flashbacks to 2009, but c’mon, that was eight years ago and you’re not as superstitious as that, are you? Are you?

Mike

Leave a Reply

