Dealing with it

Dear J—

It feels like a lot of my waking time is spent justifying the if-this-then-that equation. Here’s roughly how it goes:

  1. Oh, that ___ is a GOOD deal.
  2. What would I do with ___?
  3. Come up with a lame excuse.
  4. I can’t imagine how or why I have lived without ___ for so long.

Current case in point: there’s a set of speakers that arrived earlier this week which are waiting to be hooked up so I can listen to music in the living room. Because I listen to music in the living room so much, so often, so what? Really? That’s the best I could come up with on short notice.

These conclusions seem like a good idea at the time, even when they’re not. Brilliant, eh?

Mike

Leave a Reply

