Buckle

Dear J—

I’m in the midst of monitoring how the vertical strut on my bike rack appears to be very nicely buckling under an extra-heavy load today (added laptop, camera, and four cans of beans to my usual load in the bag). Hopefully it doesn’t collapse before I get to work today, though I have to admit  it really doesn’t look good right now.

I could have – should have – saved some weight by breaking up the transfer of beans, or maybe not taking the laptop home overnight, though there’s no guarantees either way, I guess. We muddle through, we seek out and conquer and divide. The training is not going immensely well, but as well as can be expected, and I’m grateful once again that I work with really smart people who are able to get things done, even as I flail away at the small tasks before me.

Mike

Leave a Reply

