Young

Dear J—

I’m not, as I had feared, the youngest person at work, but people who have younger kids all have left so there’s that, I suppose. There’s a marked difference in experiences, though, and that’s fun to see. I remember being in my first job and thinking that I was never going to be able to figure this out; there was too many different things to keep rack of and the worst part was I kept making mistakes.

Here’s the key: make new mistakes; in other words, learn from what you’ve done and recognize traps (ITS A TRAP) when they come up. Now I know you want to do this, but stop and consider that irreversible course of action. It’s silly to consider that that’s the basis of quality assurance, but there you have it: write down what you learned and give someone else the chance to not make the same error.

Mike

Leave a Reply

