Shine On

Dear J—

The replacement phone (going from a Moto X (2013) to a Nexus 5, in keeping with my too-cheap-to-be-believed theme) confirms my worst suspicions, that I’m only interested in the newest and latest and shiniest things. Rather than tote around my work phone or the one with a good camera I’m starting to bring the new phone around to watch Netflix on, etc.

I did get my library card fixed, so that’s something, at least. I’m working through Ernest Cline’s Armada and it is much how I thought it would be: a fun, fast read but one that I’m projecting all kinds of my insecurities onto – I won’t go into much detail here because I believe in what Sondheim said: once you’ve launched a creation, it is the viewer’s job to be supportive and grateful for what it is, not what it could have been. Let’s just say that fans of Ready Player One will not be disappointed. If not, then be forewarned that it’s more of the same. 

I wrote a story in the seventh grade about the earth being invaded by aliens who used a 30-60-90 triangle to lock a jail cell, which I promptly escaped by entering the correct side lengths. It was wish fulfillment of the worst kind and I can’t say I was terribly proud of it now.

Mike

Leave a Reply

