Vector

Dear J—

Someone pointed out to me that since SVG is a file format that is essentially based on HTML (XML) you can’t really embed it in a webpage as part of a larger chunk and that doesn’t necessarily make sense, now that I think about it – haven’t they had things like frames and subsections for forever now? – but from a simplification sense, it makes perfect sense if you’re considering it as a technology to generate appropriately-scaled bitmaps on the fly.

Bitmaps are more easily understood: here is a coordinate, paint it this color, move on to the next pixel. I’m happy with that and I couldn’t tell you the number of times I used to play around on the pixel level, especially in SuperPaint (Silicon Beach Software). That program had a nice vector mode, though I was always intimidated by it and never used it much until I took some CADD classes later. Very obviously, we aren’t comfortable with the notion of vectors and control points. I wasn’t sure what to do with Bezier curves and handles for quite a while, not until I had to illlustrate my thesis and was forced to learn it through trial and error.

On the other hand, forced may be too strong a word to describe it; we could all simplify our lives by being honest and honestly, I did want to learn it, and honestly ,I do enjoy drawing with vectors, though I’m not at all certain how it benefits me when we’re talking work-wise, but I’ll stick with it as a fulfilling activity.

Mike

Leave a Reply

