Endurance

Dear J—

I’d like to think this will work:

If I can get through this, I can get through that.

Start small and build big. If I can get through the next ten seconds, I can get through the next minute. If I can get through the next minute, I can get through the next ten. If I can get through the next ten minutes, I can get through the next hour. You can do this. What could help?

Well, if you realize there will be a finite limit to all of this, that there’s only so much to deal with and that yeah, you pretty much have it easy and could take a break soon enough. How about learning to laugh at the situations? I used to be able to make up amusing stories about the people hurrying in traffic to help me there. It’s about being creative and flexible, and we all like to think that we’re creative and flexible, don’t we?

If this, then that. Simple. It’s up to you to fill in the blanks and make it work.

Mike

Leave a Reply

