Stewing About

Dear J—

I have my favorite schadenfreude moments, like watching people first step out of the terminals at SFO without a jacket (incidentally, that was me not so long ago, what with leaving San Diego in the heat and wearing shorts eleven months out of twelve). If and when we’re ready to approach escape velocity from this rut we’re in, perhaps we’ll find a way to play tourist and encounter all the joys of going someplace new and acting through them awkwardly, marking us out as newbies and neophytes. I like the concept, in abstract, of new experiences, but don’t necessarily want to look like I don’t know what I’m doing, even if that’s true, which adds to the essential tension of the situation.

Mike

Leave a Reply

