Long Night

Dear J-

Can you really explain what’s happening? Perhaps what we need is to unplug at the end of the day, maybe that’s what we need instead of winding up, is winding down and less excitement, not more. I know. It’s a crazy idea, right? Let’s instead think about things we can do together and stuff that forces me to interact with the kids and … did you just yawn? What was that? On the one hand I’m not saying … I’m not … I’m. Well, boil that down. I am. I’m not always thrilled to spend time together, even the few hours we do have conscious, and I can’t seem to figure out why.

I know they’re not adults, and I know they don’t necessarily want to only be left alone at the end of the day, even if it’s what I want; if you recharge by being solo then isn’t it enough time to have by yourself at work, on the train? Don’t you enjoy enough of that time, and why would you want more than that? Is that it? You feel greedily drunk on your own time, and taking more and more of it to yourself isn’t helping, is it?

Mike

Leave a Reply

