Historical Fiction

Dear J-

Part of me is amused at these slightly outdated LinkedIn profiles, which keep pinging me with anniversary announcements of people who haven’t worked at the plant in over a year (I’m coming up on my first-year anniversary of that particular event, myself). Another part is angry, for the waste in human capital (remind yourself, there’s nothing anyone could do for this: SCE did more than most, and there was no place else you would rather have ended up, am I right?), but I also have to remind myself that companies who value their employees and those who talk in terms of human capital are a world apart. Life isn’t always fair: change what you can and move on inspired by the next phase in your career, or life, or set a new goal. Simple.

When I was in Nashville it didn’t rain as much as I thought it could, given the sick wet heat in the air. I’d look up, convinced the clouds were gathering to wring some moisture out of the sodden sky but the sun would burn on unabated by mist or vapor; after all, the absolute saturation humidity goes up with air temperature, but the suffocating heat wasn’t as terrible as I’ve felt before. I probably could/should have gone to see a baseball game one of those nights when I could have, but as it is the days were exhausting enough on their own without resorting to insomnia and anxiety, struggling with unknown bus routes and back again. On the other hand, why not?

If an opportunity arises, why not charge forward? You could predict weather all day long based on patterns and current observations and still be wrong more often than not. Weather reports are generally hypothesizing future events, and if we could read the future perfectly then there’d be no reason to play sporting events or be surprised by the latest atrocities and horrors playing out on the front page every morning. No one knows what the future will bring, and you might as well try something new on for size: it may suit you better. I’m reminded of the hours we spend fretting over things we can’t affect, and whether or not that’s a productive use of time (hint: no). The past informs our actions, but shouldn’t dictate them, and how many of us are paying attention to historical events anyway? Exactly.

Mike

Leave a Reply

