Time Thief

Dear J-

One of the things that I always forget is that if I’m having trouble with it, chances are that someone else has struggled with it too and there’s an answer somewhere on the internet. For instance, I put a new wi-fi card into my eBay laptop and promptly got the Thinkpad 1802 error (unauthorized card, I will go no further). It’s not borne out of me being overly cheap and stingy (okay, I didn’t read all the fine print about the card when I saw it on eBay for a good price) but nevertheless, the problem has been well-documented to the point where you can actually burn your own live CD and patch your BIOS to remove that check.
image

So long live problem solving and operating experience; I probably made a mistake in not verifying the part number on the card, but it’s easily fixable and I’m looking forward to (sooner or later) being able to fiddle with the computer more in order to get it running. All the little parts tend to add up, so you’re better off sourcing a more complete machine when you can, though, especially if you plan on taking it on a trip soon. The more I fiddle with it the better I understand the credo that you need to be able to build it to say you own it. I know, it’s a stupid pride thing, but that’s where I am.

Lately I’ve ended each day past midnight; there’s just not enough time it seems, between getting the kids off to bed and doing a little light browsing on my own. Throw in a project machine and there’s little point in even trying to sleep, right? I’ll have to stop a lot of the browsing, though, as it’s just mostly idle window shopping until I find something that’s such a good deal I’d kick myself for passing it up so I don’t, of course. Fun to window shop; nice when packages arrive in the mail, but all I’m doing is taking time away from us and them.

Mike

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

