BB&T Escape 0411

BB&T Escape 0411 by mliu92
BB&T Escape 0411, a photo by mliu92 on Flickr.

Dear J-

I tried walking around Downtown Charlotte tonight to see if there was anything I could photograph. Okay, I was looking for street photography subjects and honestly I couldn’t find any, mostly because I don’t have an eye for that and also because I was too shy to ask. What’s wrong with asking? I don’t know where to begin.

There was the one person who seemed kinda friendly when she asked me if I was taking photographs, huh, and who quickly bolted when I explained my enthusiasm for digital cameras (perhaps she was trying to avoid the flecks of spittle), It’s clear that I come across as some kind of weirdo or worse, creep, either overly excitable or without filter. So how do you ask someone for their picture?

I’m impressed by the practitioners of the street photographic art, who seem to be able to ask without thinking twice about it — a smile, a gesture, the shot is shot and we move on in our separate worlds. Someday, perhaps. I’m not going to get anywhere without practice.

Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

